testtest

Best Age to Start on Handguns?

wmg1299

Professional
I was a police officer when my children were young. My instructors in the Academy were proponents of teaching children to use handguns as soon as you felt they were responsible enough to handle basic instruction (usually 6-8 years old). They were of the opinion that most tragedies involving children finding firearms were due in part to childhood curiosity and thinking that guns were forbidden fruit (the other component was improper storage). I purchased a Ruger SR22 and a Taurus 94 in .22 LR to teach my kids about both semi-autos and revolvers, and taught them the basics of shooting when they each turned 7. While I wouldn't describe my boys as firearm enthusiasts, they did both develop a healthy respect for guns and followed my instructions to never touch them without an adult present.
I live in an area where most households own at least one firearm, and a good amount of my sons' friends have fired guns at some point in their lives. However, most of my sons' friends have only fired long guns. What age did you guys start firing handguns? What age do you feel is appropriate to start teaching children to handle handguns?

I don't recall exactly. Under 10 years old though. I was shooting the old man's Thompson Center .357 magnum before I was 10.

I had my own kid ( daughter) in the backyard with a .22 before she was 11. Before she could drive she could shoot my .45s and my .44 Mag.

I was 12 when I started with shotguns. My dad wasnt into handguns.