testtest

Saint ARs

Hi,

I've been looking hard at the Saint and the Saint Victor as well as a couple of other more moderately priced units. One of these days soon I'm going to make up my mind.

Thank you for your indulgence,

BassCliff

I have no experience with the Saint line, but I am familiar with what they're made of. Decent mid tier guns.

You can put together a Wilson Combat for close to the same money though.

Tell me about the gas system, rifle length vs mid-length etc? Advantages or disadvantages of one over the others?
You need to tell us what your end objective is ?

That info you ask is on the net 1000 times over for 1000 AR’s.

Rather than a few vague sentences. How about some in depth on:
-Your budget
-What you really intend to do. Plink, competitions, hunt, all of the above ??
- why Saint over Sig, LWRC, DD, etc … ?

You are asking a lot of vague questions

Tell me about the gas system, rifle length vs mid-length etc? Advantages or disadvantages of one over the others?

Thanks for those links. Very helpful

Thanks for those links. Very helpful
@tdbmd

Carbine gas systems run harder and have more felt recoil based on the higher gas port pressure. That is, the pressure(s) once the bullet exists the barrel with mil-spec loads. Pressure goes down with greater barrel volume as the chart indicates. Shorter length M16/AR15 barrels are over-gassed due to the gas port being closer to the chamber vs. the original 20" length for which the 5.56 was designed for.

This chart also shows the relationship of barrel length against bore pressure.

1723297653494.png

While I still have a couple carbine-length gas system ARs the shortest I go nowadays is a mid-length. You can still have a 16" barrel with a mid-length gas system.

Subsequently, there is an near inverse relationship between barrel length & velocity. Peak velocity is achieved with a 20" barrel since the .223/5/56mm was designed for a 20" barrel.

M855 Barrel-Length-Velocity

1723297887784.png

@tdbmd