testtest

Sights

Bloodknight

Master Class
Founding Member
My Springfield Armory "Saint" AR-Pistol came with a Burris fastfire 3 3MOA red dot reflex site. As I understand.The firearm usually comes with no sights. I'm new to the red dot system & tried sighting in at 50 yards.Not bad results,but think I should have started at 25 yards. I see Springfield offers iron sights,which can be used to co-witness the red dot.Any input as to one or the other,or both.would be greatly appreciated.I purchased the Saint pistol mainly for home defense.My concerns are things like speed of target acquisition in an emergency situation. The red dot seems like the way to go,but Ive almost always fired iron sites.I will be going all out to sight this weapon in soon as I decide best way to go. I think I just may need lots of time behind the red dot to get comfortable.Thanks for any input.The feel of the saint ar-pistol is new to me,but It feels really good in my hand.Becoming good friends :)

I would drop some UTG manual flip up iron sights on it. They are affordable and work. Why manual you ask? It's one less thing that will break like a flip up spring. Then I would run my Burris Fastfire. Don't rely on your red dot only. If it goes down for any reason, your iron sights will be your best friend. If you choose to run a magnified optic like a 1x4, I'd run the red dot as a back up at a 45 degree angle. All depends on what your going to be doing with the pistol.

As the others here, I favor having and knowing irons as well, but honestly, modern electronics are quite stout and battery-miserly.

Additionally, once you're more comfortable with the gun, start trying to simply shoot the gun using kinesthetic alignment. The extra points-of-contact that a shoulder-fired weapon affords will make unsighted shooting much more easier than the same with a handgun.

The reason for both?