testtest

Springfield Trapdoor

Looking for someone/anyone knowledgeable about Trapdoors -- esp the 1884 version. I found one that has all the proper markings on barrel, breech, and stock. Except, when you open the swing away on the butt the normal channels for the 3 piece cleaning rod do not exist. Is this possible? Is the stock/firearm a fake?

I'm not a Trapdoor expert, but have researched several of them recently for the museum where I volunteer. You mention "all the proper markings." I assume the lock has US over Springfield with a spread winged eagle and 1884. Proof marks on the barrel. US/MODEL/1884 on the front of breech. What's the serial number? Does it have the rod bayonet?

I had a confusing Model 1884 in hand with a serial number far outside the range reported in references. An expert said that was unusual but the frame might have been in hiding and showed up for our rifle.

There were minor variations within each model. Can't answer your question but odd guns show up now and then.

If you get a better answer, please post it here. I am curious.

I'm not a Trapdoor expert, but have researched several of them recently for the museum where I volunteer. You mention "all the proper markings." I assume the lock has US over Springfield with a spread winged eagle and 1884. Proof marks on the barrel. US/MODEL/1884 on the front of breech. What's the serial number? Does it have the rod bayonet?

I had a confusing Model 1884 in hand with a serial number far outside the range reported in references. An expert said that was unusual but the frame might have been in hiding and showed up for our rifle.

There were minor variations within each model. Can't answer your question but odd guns show up now and then.

If you get a better answer, please post it here. I am curious.
It is a carbine. It has the groove and latch release for a ramrod but no ramrod present. The serial number is 475*** indicating manufacture in early 1890 which jives with the stock cartouche.